Electric Unicycle seized/confiscated by Police in Dublin, Ireland.

I do not get this. The policeman keeps telling them that they were using mechanically propelled vehicles. I am no engineer but to me these are electrically propelled, not mechanically. Secondly, what about all those 4 wheeled electric mopeds used by old or disabled people on the pavements or on the road? No numberplate or insurance either.

• Upvote 1

They do everything by laws and rules ,,, come on, a tow truck ,,, seriously,,,, unbelievable, they have us at everything no insurance or number plate , I'm sure we would if we could but we can't ☹️

Edited by stephen

1 hour ago, Gabor Racz said:

I do not get this. The policeman keeps telling them that they were using mechanically propelled vehicles. I am no engineer but to me these are electrically propelled, not mechanically. Secondly, what about all those 4 wheeled electric mopeds used by old or disabled people on the pavements or on the road? No numberplate or insurance either.

That's a term for anything Propelled by an engine or motor, it's from law dating back 1961...

Those have an "exception" on the law, and I agree with that. 

13 minutes ago, stephen said:

They do everything by laws and rules ,,, come on, a tow truck ,,, seriously,,,, unbelievable, they have us at everything no insurance or number plate , I'm sure we would if we could but we can't ☹️

Have you tried carrying an EUC on a motorcycle? ;) There's no place to put it. Even less so on a cop bike all loaded down with radios and sirens, and back seat removed, etc.

EDIT. And I supposed delivering a confiscated vehicle to the impound lot and doing all the paperwork, is a waste of police time, when it is customary for the tow truck to do it.