15 Mile One Way - V10F vs KS18XL

Energon5

Hello!

I'm an absolute beginner looking to get into EUC's. However, I'm in a fairly cold state, and a decently long one way commute. Currently I ride and ebike when I can, but this can be inhibitive due to size and storage. An EUC seems like a perfect fit for my purpose. I'll have a 15 mile one way commute to work, with the ability to charge here during the day. I'm in South Dakota, so it can get cold in the winter. I'm not even sure if I'd have the courage to ride in the winter yet so I didn't want to consider that initially. I'm about 5'8", and 140ish lbs since I know that can factor in on range.

With that info, I'm trying to decide now between the V10F and the KS18XL for my purposes. I know the KS has the larger capacity battery and the larger wheel. However, the increased price of entry there is a little difficult to get past. The V10F knocks off a good amount, but still seems like it might be limiting in terms of range when compared with the KS. Which one would people recommend between the two? Or even other better suggestions for getting into it with my range wants?

Thanks!

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi @Energon5 - welcome to our forum!

It is always hard to say what is the best wheel for any given rider, as there are a number of factors involved. So if you would be able to share a little more, we should be able to provide some more relevant feedback, in particular;

• What is the terrain like for you commute? Are there hills, et cetera?
  • And what is the surface like? Are you riding on concrete / tar-seal, or is it more off-road? How rough is it?