Inmotion Bluetooth Protocol Documentation

lioku

Has Inmotion or some third party documented the Bluetooth protocol used on the V8 or their other EUCs?

I love geeking out on the stats from DarknessBot and the official app, but I find the logging interfaces in both to be lacking some functionality. Being a software developer by trade, I thought it would be fun to play around with some interface ideas. But after reading the forum posts about GyroMetrics, DarknessBot and WheelLog, it seems like the developers of those apps had to reverse engineer the communication protocols for the various brands with a Bluetooth LE sniffer and lots of trial and error. It might be fun to dig into that, but I'm curious; has the situation changed at since those apps were originally written?

👍a fellow "geeker outer". I've also enjoyed looking at wheellog data, and have been thinking of ways to throw some analytics against it to uncover more insights.  I'm more like an administrator/systems engineer that likes to write code than a developer though.  :-) 

18 hours ago, lioku said:

Has Inmotion or some third party documented the Bluetooth protocol used on the V8 or their other EUCs?

Never heard of any official documentation. If such documentation exists it was not publicly leaked...

But after reading the forum posts about GyroMetrics, DarknessBot and WheelLog, it seems like the developers of those apps had to reverse engineer the communication protocols for the various brands with a Bluetooth LE sniffer and lots of trial and error. It might be fun to dig into that, but I'm curious;

Seems this knowlegde is all we have. 

has the situation changed at since those apps were originally written?

That was quite some time ago and they are still maintained (except gyrometrics). Mainly support for new wheels like the z10...

On 2/11/2019 at 3:05 PM, Blueblade said: