Newbie question

Humsuplow

I started off with ninebot one E plus . once I was more confident I got myself I got way ACM 16 . Had no problems with the transition as both the wheels were 16 in . I've just got myself and inmotion v5f last week. But I seem to have trouble riding it. It's much more nimble as I have read, but it's hard to handle( control ). The wheel keeps shifting either to the left or to the right.s this because I'm new to a 14 inch? Is this a conditioning issue?

This is normal. Each wheel is different and responds differently. It takes time to get used to the differences. When you do not get the response you expect you tend to over compensate . It just takes a lighter touch. Some people say that they are more nimble. I say they are more hyper. 

Yes, hyper is the right answer.  Ever so wanting to turn left and right.  Hard to stay in a straight line.  Not liking it at the moment. But will keep on practicing . 

I own both VF5 and Ninebot One E.

The V5F is way faster reacting than the ninebot One. I personnaly love the two wheels for different reasons.

V5F is more a toe/heel machine, and Ninebot One a body throw machine.

Practice on both and I think you will be able to handle mostly any wheel.

Once you get fully familar with both you will be able to transfer the different skills from one to the other. Great fun!

True. Tyre pressure can make huge differences on the V5F. You may even have to deal with the dreaded wobbles.

Be ready to experiment. 

Your weight and geometry of your legs may make a difference.

The wheel has a high center of gravity and high pedals for its size. To boot the pedals are solidly canted up.

The V5F set me back a serious 4 weeks of training coming from the laggard X3. It was really worth the trouble...

Check this training video that I recently dug out from my hardrive.

Super fast and minimal corrections to insure smooth backward riding.