V8 troubleshooting: plastic cover on one of the leads melted into the motherboard. Wheel still working. Should I replace it?

The_Dude

I'm not an expert, so if there are inaccuracies, please correct me: earlier today, after riding up a steep slope, the power to the gyro (I think) started fluctuating, resulting in what I can only describe as noisy fits and starts (as if the wheel was repeatedly trying and failing to balance). I opened it up and found that the plastic cover over the yellow lead had melted into the mobo (see attachments). I removed the burnt plastic cover and reconnected the lead. That fixed the issue with the gyro and I managed to ride the unit down the same slope without issue.

1. Should / can I replace the unit? I bought it from InMotion USA in July, so I still have warranty.

2. Is it safe to ride? The connection is loose compared to the other leads, but it seems like the circuitry is intact.

IMG_0033.jpg

IMG_0034.jpg

8 hours ago, The_Dude said:

I'm not an expert, so if there are inaccuracies, please correct me: earlier today, after riding up a steep slope, the power to the gyro (I think) started fluctuating, resulting in what I can only describe as noisy fits and starts (as if the wheel was repeatedly trying and failing to balance). I opened it up and found that the plastic cover over the yellow lead had melted into the mobo (see attachments). I removed the burnt plastic cover and reconnected the lead. That fixed the issue with the gyro and I managed to ride the unit down the same slope without issue.

1. Should / can I replace the unit? I bought it from InMotion USA in July, so I still have warranty.

I'd say yes - but it's hard to say if some components on the mainboard got destroyed/"insulted" by this overheating.

8 hours ago, The_Dude said:

2. Is it safe to ride? The connection is loose compared to the other leads, but it seems like the circuitry is intact.