Seeking advice

leonleejx

Hey everybody, I'm a beginner who's just bought a Kingsong 14M and have been trying to learn to ride for 3 days now. I've put in about 45min to 1h of practice but I don't feel like I'm making much progress, and the flood of videos of people who can ride like a pro after 15 minutes isn't helping my ego a lot.

A few problems I've noticed:

1. As soon as I mount, I tilt to one side. I mount using the skateboard-like method, and I've concluded that this problem is caused by me putting uneven pressure on the pedals, and the only way I can see to fix it is to just...... not.

2. I can't ride straight. Even if I don't tilt to the side right away, I end up zig-zagging. The furthest straight-line distance I can go (while zig-zagging) is only about 10 metres.

I'm feeling the slightest bit discouraged especially looking at the time it's taking me compared to some others, and the only way I can comfort myself is the excuse that everybody learns at a different pace. How long did it take you guys to be able to ride smoothly? Any advice for a beginner like myself will be much appreciated too. Thanks!

Hey. Don't stress yourself too much. It's supposed to be fun to learn. Just don't give up:efee47c9c8:

1. Tuck the knee in, just like shown in this video.

In the same vein, have your second foot next to the wheel, not in front or behind it, so it won't go forward or backwards as soon as you put pressure on the first foot while your second foot leaves the ground.

The entire video is very good and shows both, as well as much more.

2. Speed. You're too slow. You cannot balance on a EUC while it's still or barely moving forward, you need to gain speed quickly. Like 15kph. Forget the skateboard kick start, that's hard to do.