Too tall for a 14" wheel?

lioku

I'm 6'2" 170lbs and looking to pick up my first EUC. A few days ago I tried out a friend's Solowheel Glide 3 (16") which was great. But after doing some research the Kingsong 14D looks like a better choice in terms of features. The overall design appeals more to me and Kingsong seems to have a good reputation for being conservative and reliable. Also the 14D has Bluetooth speakers and USB charging which I could imagine being really useful. The only downside is that I'm worried a 14" wheel will be too small for someone my height. I would consider the 16S but it seems to be an older design and also does not have USB charging.

Does anyone here over 6' ride a KS14D? What's your impression?

I'm just learning, not interested in going fast, and mostly planning on navigating city traffic/pedestrians and climbing hills.

The KS16S is not an older design. All the KingSong 'S'-series of wheels were released about the same time.

I highly recommend that your first wheel be a 16-inch model because that is "the ideal general purpose wheel size".

USB charging via the wheel is highly overrated in my opinion. I have a ton of wheels that provide the USB port and I've yet to use it. I wouldn't let that be a driver for your decision.

The KS16S is the most economical choice for the features that it offers.

I'm 5'11" and ~175-pounds (geared up) and my KS14S is a joy to ride. I can't image another 3-inches in height making that much of a difference. But if you insist on the KS14, please get the "S" model for the additional safely that comes with the 840wh battery.

I'd still go with the KS16S if I'm only going to have one wheel.

51 minutes ago, Marty Backe said:

I highly recommend that your first wheel be a 16-inch model because that is "the ideal general purpose wheel size".

Thanks for the advice, Marty!