V10F tire pressure?

Elder Meat

With just under 2 hours of riding (ever) under my belt, I'm starting to think 40 psi may be too low for asphalt use. As a beginner I could be totally off, but it seems like the tire feels a little mushy when it comes to lateral movement. I plan to try 45, then 50 psi to see what the difference feels like. I'm 167 lbs. So what pressures are you running? 

• 1 month later...

I thought I updated my original post. I checked my tire pressure and was surprised to learn after three weeks it went from 40 psi to 25. That would explain why it felt so mushy. :)

I reinflated to 40 psi and continued to practice with that. Dunno if it's my wheel but I have to top off the pressure every week. After several weeks I felt 40 psi was too much for a beginner like me, and 30 psi was a better choice. (That chart BTW, suggests 36 psi as my starting pressure.) Using 30 psi I need more initial speed to get onto the wheel but it makes the transition to staying on (rather than aborting and trying over) easier. However once I get above 10 mph I start to experience wobbles. So maybe trials at 35 psi is in order.

I am but an egg.

• 2 weeks later...

wow thats low, but Im heavy. 45psi on my v8 after trying just about everything. holds pressure fine for weeks on end. had 2x ninebot tubes drop pressure, both were fixed with $2 valve replacements at the bike shop. both had glass or thorn punctures within a week. third lasted another 300kms before I upgraded to v8, has gone a bit flat after sitting for 3 months but v8 has only been topped once in 3 months and 450kms...