Decisions, decisions

Thai-lad

While I have decided I really want to get the new MCM5, I'm also debating first getting a used wheel as a learner wheel.  If so I want to get something with long term use potential, not something to outgrow and discard in a month. My options here are pretty limited, but there are a couple choices that seem reasonable.  Assuming that they are in good shape, no bent rims, cracked axles or worn out battery packs, which one would you go with?  And why?

FYI I am over 60 y.o. and 180 lbs, a complete newbie, don't expect to travel high speeds, have a short flat commute with good roads,  lots of local dirt and gravel neighborhood roads to explore, and the foothills of a major mountain range within a kilometer of my location that are beckoning, though hill climbing is something that can wait on the MCM5.

The two used wheels that have caught my interest are an ACM v2 820 w/h and a KS16S 840 w/h.  The Kingsong is $100 more.  Both are cosmetically clean.  I think either one would be a good first choice, seems many of you have had one or the other, some may have had both. If I get one of them then I'll wait till Xmas to buy the new MCM5.

Given the two choices, which one would you recommend?  I'm having a hard time deciding.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Get the 16S. 67.2V ACMs are kind of old now, and I wouldn't know any advantage they have over the 16S, while the 16S has a lot of advantages (quality, speed, handle). You sure it is a 16S and not a 16C (non-S)? In my view, a 16S is definitely the better choice.

1 hour ago, meepmeepmayer said:

Get the 16S. 67.2V ACMs are kind of old now, and I wouldn't know any advantage they have over the 16S, while the 16S has a lot of advantages (quality, speed, handle). You sure it is a 16S and not a 16C (non-S)? In my view, a 16S is definitely the better choice.