first ride in downtown traffic ...

bpong

this is my first experience riding my ewheel in downtown toronto.  i was terrified at the thought of riding beside vehicular traffic on an ewheel.

basically, i started at bloor and sherbourne,  and went to a mexican supermarket in kensington market,  and then headed to mountain equipment at peter st. and king st.

then,  i headed back from mec.  it was around 10kms total ride.

since its my first time, i did the following:

used mainly the bicycle lanes,  when possible.  if not the bicycle lanes,  i used quiet streets.  i walked across certain intersections that were very busy like college and spadina.

i avoided some bicycle lanes that merged beside parallel streetcar tracks cause im not used to riding over those rails as yet.

all in all,  it was a very pleasant trip,  and it was much faster than walking the whole route.  the only thing im adding to my riding equipment is a small, light clip on rear view mirror that attaches

to my sun glass horn.  i find it abit distracting doing all those shoulder checks for bicycle traffic that may be behind me.  it is amazing how much ground you cover with the ewheel !!!

its abit of a workout for me combining alittle walking with alot of riding though.  glad i did it to get over the fear factor in riding with downtown traffic.

also,  i found eye to eye contact with car drivers was very important to ensure they know its okay to turn right as im slowing down abit.  hand gestures similar to ones used in

bicycle riding worked well too for signalling turns.

whew !!!

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply
10 minutes ago, bpong said:

the only thing im adding to my riding equipment is a small, light clip on rear view mirror that attaches to my sun glass horn.