How to avoid crashing?

I'm new to electric unicycles and I've seen people talk about how they've crashed well under the speed limits of their wheels. What are ways that people crash and how can they be avoided?

Rules to prevent a crash:

1. Always look where you're going. Every single second. LOOK.WHERE.YOU.ARE.GOING! Seriously.
  2. As with essentially all other vehicles (cars, bicycles, whatever), very often too high speed is the reason for accidents.
  3. Don't be stupid, and have some awareness what you and the wheel are doing..
  4. Be lucky! (No hardware failure during riding, no murderous cars, etc)

So far I've had an inconsequential cut-out due to the wheel frying on a hill (semi my fault, so violated rule #3 a bit), and a bit worse fall because I didn't look where I was going for too long (rule #1 broken) AND because of very bad luck with a rock right in the middle of the wide open bike path that really couldn't be expected to be there (rule #4 broken).

Become totally comfortable with getting on and off without holding onto things.

I found in the early days that I would try to navigate through some dicey situations, timing traffic lights etc,  just because I was trying to avoid stopping.

• 2 weeks later...

One that is important is to know your environment.
Even if you do know it quite well, something unexpected could happen and effect the ground.
Things to keep an eye out for are;

• Sharp objects (glass, nails, thorns, etc)
  • Uneven terrain (cracks, potholes, etc)
  • Water on a smooth surface (ie, tiles/bricks/metal)
  • Gravel/sand (anything you can sink into)

It is always a good idea to take it slow in an area you have not been through before. If it rains where you live, take it slow. These tips are in addition to the others provided above my post.

• 1 month later...

Crash reasons:

1) Inability to see big obstacles on a road, like cracks, boulders

2) Riding too close to walls and curbs. You hit it, got forced turn and go off balance