Axial flux motors for EUCs

Beowolve

I have searched for Magnax / Axial Flux in the forum, and it seams this topic hasn't come up so far.

There is a new company (Magnax) specialized in axial flux motors. This is also a brushless motor design and can also be build as a wheel hub motor.

It is basically superb in all aspects and allows for higher efficiency and at the same time very thin / small designs. 

So my question Is this type of motor allready used in some EUCs (IPS comes into my mind), or is this something that could improve EUCs in newer generations?

I am not a motor expert but this seams to be a no brainer for every EUC company. As I understand it, there seams to be no disadvantage over radial flux motors.

https://www.magnax.com/

Whitepaper

Here is the basic design difference:

http://bioage.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341c4fbe53ef0133ef5fb399970b-800wi

Edited by RagingGrandpa
(clarified title)
  • Like 2
  • Upvote 1

21 minutes ago, Beowolve said:

I have searched for Magnax / Axial Flux in the forum, and it seams this topic hasn't come up so far.

There is a new company (Magnax) specialized in axial flux motors. This is also a brushless motor design and can also be build as a wheel hub motor.

Good question and possibly promising design, do you have any information are figures for its efficiency that are independent (I.e. not taking the company’s word for it)?

There is one word though that is likely to be a dirty word where uptake of this motor is concerned “Patents”. In reality efficiency increase is no more than about 10% (BLDC motors are 80-85% efficient) and it’s only real gain is likely to be in the motor being lighter. 

The company’s blurb suggests some manufacturing challenges I.e.

• Rectangular section copper wire, for the highest possible copper fill factor (90%).
  • Concentrated windings, for the lowest possible copper losses (no coil overhangs).
  • Grain-oriented electrical steel, lowering the core losses by as much as 85%.