So how safe is this wheel now?

Paddylaz

I think this is my first time on the Rockwheel section of this forum....

I know there have been horror stories in the past, but what's the current status amongst owners/those in the know about the state of things now?

Is the GT16 the top of the range right now or is there something incoming soon?

7 minutes ago, meepmeepmayer said:

Safety: So far, no bad reports or reports of obvious weaknesses.

Upcoming: I believe they are working on a 18 incher, but as the GT16 is brand new, don't expect a new 16 incher soon... maybe a revision. Maybe...

It does look good.......

35 minutes ago, Tomek said:

that's the most exhaustive review i found: https://ecodrift.ru/wiki-article/rockwheel-gt16-review/. it seems that's the latest version. can anyone confirm? to sum it up, really good performance of internals, finishing and details of terrible quality. i'm hesitant of buying one, but will probably pass.

yeah that exposed wiring etc looks terrible

53 minutes ago, Paddylaz said:

yeah that exposed wiring etc looks terrible

to me the biggest deterrents are the pedals (no magnets, scratching the shell), poor ergonomy of the cushion (although you probably stop minding it over time), and the lack of waterproofing and coating of the pcb. the issue of scatcat from the other thread is hopefully resolved in more recent models.

still, the agile, fast wheel like rockwheel is exactly what I'm after. let's see what gw tesla brings when it's out (although i'm not too fond of the looks of it so far)

1 hour ago, meepmeepmayer said:

That was due to mechanical damage in the motor (metal chips) if I recall correctly. From one old, second hand model. Not necessarily comparable to the current(newer) revisions.

You didn't read the thread very carefully. The found metal chips were from a broken washer, but they did not cause the problem. Ah, and the board was loose, but that didn't cause the problem either, or maybe it did, we don't know for sure.