Safe Speed Poll

Circuitmage

What is your Safe Speed you try to Ride at?  

68 members have voted

1. 1. What speed to you consider the MAXIMUM "safe" speed to ride at?

• 10kmph (6.2mph)
    • 15kmph (9.3mph)
    • 20kmph (12.4mph)
    • 25kmph (15.5mph)
    • 30kmph (18.6mph)
    • 35kmph (21.8mph)
    • >35kmph

As a noob, I'm just wondering where people are in their "safe speed" zone here. My neighbor across the street has had is ninebot for about 9 months (or more?), and just informed me he has his limiter set to 10kmph (6.2mph) ! After less than 4 days on my V3pro, I'm hitting the max speed regularly (12mph).

This may not be the speed you set your limiter to (which may be much higher!) , but the speed at which you feel you try to stay under while riding.  (I know this can vary by wheel type and rider experience, just wanting to get an idea of membership speed right now.)

31 minutes ago, Circuitmage said:

This may not be the speed you set your limiter to (which may be much higher!) , but the speed at which you feel you try to stay under while riding.

I know from experience that my safe speed is around 12 mph but I don't stay that low.

I find it amazing that American football collide with each other at combined speeds of greater than 30 mph, with them hitting the ground afterwards. Which is probably why 1/3 of ex-football players file bankruptcy, and many (most?All?) CAT scan on living players shows a lot of water where their brain tissue used to be.

Depends to a large degree on your EUC and your protection.

Running a steady 15mph on a 14" wheel is something totally different than doing it on an 18" wheel, and even two wheels with the same diameter can be radically different in stability at high speeds.

Running with full MC-gear: boots, leg-guards, hip-guards, back-plate, rib-plates, arm-guards, wrist-guards, neck-guard and a full face helmet, is a totally different proposition than running with just wrist guards or nothing at all.