Best EUC leg padding

Williamkeddy

I am new to electric unicycling and just purchased a gotway mcm3. After only a few short rides I have noticed decent bruising on the sides of my calf and ankles. What padding/materials have you guys used to prevent bruising on long rides?

I pack a squirrel between each leg and the machine.  I stop every time he wants to pick up a nut, so we both win.

Seriously though, I did an invasion of our local Big 5 sporting good store checking out the alternatives.  It's not easy to get stuff that protects your shins on the sides rather than just the front.  They also tend to be extremely short -- like child-size even in adult large/XL.  The trend has gone over to tiny shin guards.  That's a shame because some, like the Adidas Ghost ones I tried, integrated ankle and (lower) shin protection into a single sleeve of what felt like breathable cloth which was extremely comfortable, and I would have been very happy with them if the shin guards weren't absurdly small.

So I got loose shin plates I can move around a bit.  It's still not the ideal solution, as they tend to be contoured to fit over the front and don't reposition sideways all that well. I also got Ace Wrap rubberized elastic sleeves to give just a bit more padding to both shin and ankle (separate pieces). and help hold the shin guards in place a little more firmly too.

I haven't found any ankle guards that would prevent bruising outside some with a hard plastic ankle cap-type attachment riveted onto the shin sleeve, but they have a weird hard plate under the foot which cuts right into my feet and cannot be removed without ripping out rivets..  Amazon does have some foam ones with pads directly over the ankles which would provide a little more padding than the simple Ace Wrap foam sleeves, but they don't appear to be as protective as that hard plastic would be.  Luckily they come cheap.

It seems to me that I am going to have to pad both the machine itself and my body.