UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply) - Is it a fire hazard?

I was thinking about getting a UPS for my desktop PC. Seeing euc and hoverboard fires makes me think about the possibility of UPS catching on fire. The difference with UPS is that it's "always plugged in and charging" while eucs we can charge while "attended" and store unattended. Another difference is most UPS use lead acid batteries instead of lithium batteries. Any insights or thoughts?

This is the model I'm considering:
http://www.apc.com/shop/uk/en/products/APC-Smart-UPS-1500VA-LCD-230V/P-SMT1500I

Edited by John Eucist
added link
  • Upvote 2

2 minutes ago, The Fat Unicyclist said:

Good UPS have fairly sophisticated management, and as you mentioned less volatile batteries... I have been using them for several years, without any concerns whatsoever. 

I just edited in the link to the UPS model I'm considering (to the original post) but here is is again:

Is lead acid less volatile? I didn't know for sure.

"Battery type

Maintenance-free sealed Lead-Acid battery with suspended electrolyte : leakproof"

should be quite safe. And APC is imho a quite well known and serious producer of ups's. They are not known for bad design or bad quality controlls like some hocerboard or euc manufacturers.

but shit can happen - if you google 'ups apc fire hazard' there are some reports. One i read was a blown capacitor - imho this could happen with about any electronic 'power' device.

some got very hot batteries, which normally should be detected by the ups selftest - but anyway the battery should be changed before it looses too much capacity (?the first sign if aging?) or the ups can no longer provide its indented service anyhow. 

.... just googled - recommended lifetime for apc ups batteries is 3 to 5 yesrs, maybe i should replace mine ...

• Upvote 3

5 hours ago, Dingfelder said:

It's much cheaper to have one of them blown by a power surge than to lose an expensive TV or precious computer etc.