New user at age 79

Notaguru

I'm a 79 year old professor, about to acquire a second-hand E+. 60 years ago I rode a unicycle (pedal-powered), and hope some of those ancient skills will enable me to adapt to this new device. I need some sort of portable personal transporter because my knees don't support walking (osteoarthritis hates impact), though I'm otherwise quite fit. My goal is to efficiently traverse the very large campus on which I still teach. A few questions of the resident gurus...

• Price with training wheels is about $300 - does that make sense?
  • Is the E+ UL-2272? Campus requires it!
  • When I inspect the unit, what should I look for regarding functionality/safety? Remember, I won't be able to ride/test it until I adapt/learn, which will take some time.
  • Is there a way to estimate the condition of the batteries?
  • Is it powered by a simple array of replaceable 18650 cells?
  • Do the training wheels accelerate the learning process, or improve safety?
  • I have a helmet - do I also need bodybubblewrap or ???
  • Will initial training be enhanced by a shopping cart?
  • If I fail to adapt, will I have a problem finding a buyer in that price range?

I'll be grateful for comments/suggestions, other than "Don't do it, you idiot!"

Thanks, gurus.

In my opinion you should forget the training wheels. The generally held opinion is that they don't really help at all. Having ridden a unicycle in the past you will probably pick up the basics within an hour or even less, they really are much easier to ride than a regular unicycle, but be careful with your knee problems as running off the first few low speed stumbles/mistakes could be a problem.

Initial learning is best enhanced by a colleague, preferably two trotting along each side of you for a little support via your hands.