New EUC wheel off-center?

mrelwood

Newbie to EUCs, just got mine a few weeks ago. I'm wondering if this is normal, or should I demand a new one, or perhaps try to fix it.

When I lift the EUC off ground, it spins to max speed and soon turns off. While the wheel is slowing down, the whole device shakes quite strongly. Looking at the edge of the rim it goes up and down in relation to the EUC shell, as if the wheel axle was slightly off-center. I'm a beginner and my riding is not smooth enough for me to notice it while riding.

Here's a video to demonstrate the issue. Is this normal?

15 minutes ago, houseofjob said:

Yes, that's normal.

You are tilting the wheel; this is the whole concept of the gyroscope, leaning forwards or backwards to create wheel motion.

The wheel turns off as a protection.

Thanks for the reply. I'm not a native English speaker, so I might not explain or understand things correctly. So just to make sure, I do understand why the wheel starts spinning. What concerns me is that the whole EUC shakes strongly while the wheel spins. If you look at the edge of the metal rim, it goes up and down while spinning. Were it a car tire, it would get weight balanced to make it spin smoothly.

I would imagine that I will ride at higher speeds once I get more experienced. It sounds like it would be a problem if the wheel doesn't spin smoothly.

4 minutes ago, mrelwood said:

Thanks for the reply. I'm not a native English speaker, so I might not explain or understand things correctly. So just to make sure, I do understand why the wheel starts spinning. What concerns me is that the whole EUC shakes strongly while the wheel spins. If you look at the edge of the metal rim, it goes up and down while spinning. Were it a car tire, it would get weight balanced to make it spin smoothly.

I would imagine that I will ride at higher speeds once I get more experienced. It sounds like it would be a problem if the wheel doesn't spin smoothly.