Riding in the rain to work

MagicCow

Hey guys.. I'm actually new to this whole EUC family(first post), I am looking to buy an EU, but I really need it for a daily commuter. I learned and fell in love with EUs in general with the Ninebot E+, but I love the over all power and usage per charge you can get out of the ACM 16(but the price is kind of high for what I need it for, if the Ninebot can do the same job). Now my main issue, that I haven't really seen or been able to get research on, is riding in the raining.. How is the NineBot with that compared to the ACM 16??

I would be using this mostly to commute to work, which is less than a mile away... I've seen the Ninebot C+ could be a viable option as well, but how is the Ninebot in wet weather?? Now, I wont be riding in or through puddles, and since I live less that a mile away. I would like something that could manage the elements, since in Arizona(USA) we get rain and heat waves in the 115 F. or 46 C. range in the summer,  I really could use the help, thanks!

Ninebot One is waterproof more than other wheels, imo. The cushions seal the battery and controller board very well from the water outside. But from the inside it is worse. There are few holes under the cushions that lead directly to the wheel compartment - the water and dirt come in through them. If you spend an hour to seal those holes with tape and/or thermo-glue and check if the heatsink is glued well - then your Ninebot One will be rain proof. In heavy rains I wear a big plastic bag on it to be 100% sure.

PS: In addition, it's a good idea to remove a few sharp edges on the inner side of the cushions, otherwise they will puncture the battery and cause fire eventually. After this procedure you have to prevent the battery from moving around too much under the cushion.

40 minutes ago, Radislav said: