X8 down on power

Speedie

Hi,

i have an Airwheel X8 that I have been using for a little over 18 months. I use it to commute to the train station and back which is approximately a 5km round trip. The trip out is uphill and there are a few sections with quite steep inclines for short distances. Initially when I first got the X8 riding up these inclines was no problem. Now the X8 really struggles on these inclines. It is as though the battery is no longer able to deliver  what the motor is trying to draw. The X8 is also no longer as zippy (good at accelerating) as when new. I can't imagine it would be the engine, as these are reasonably bulletproof.

The battery still charges and holds the charge according to the indicator lights. Does anyone have any ideas on what the issue could be? Dead or non charging cells in the battery? Is there anyway to "reset" the battery?

Thanks.

Hi,

18 months is not too bad but the battery should still hold. How many miles/km have you ridden on your x8 ? Are you a heavy person ? Did you use it toughly ?

Did you leave your battery fully charged for storage ? Did you often completely discharged your battery ?

All up I would have ridden about 1300km. I'm 83 odd kilos. It's always ridden on concrete paths. I always charge it after each ride. The charge rarely if ever would get below 2 of the 4 indicator lights, so it has never been completely discharged and has always be stored with a full charge.

I am no battery expert but I wonder if it is the repeated heavy draw every day for the few short steep segments of the ride that has shortened the life of the battery.

You could use a multimeter at the charge port and see how many volts you have fully charged.  If fully charged is, say 60 volts in the owner manual and yours only charges to 57 volts then you might have a bad cell.  But be careful touching the pins.  @esaj melted one of the probes doing something like that.

1 hour ago, Speedie said: